what to do when your roommate starts canning compulsively

by


Zoe called it a “canning bender.” I called it “preparing for the apocalypse,” because that’s exactly what it looked like Zoe was doing each time I would come home to yet another set of canned goods. But really, as far as different methods of dealing with one’s anxiety go, this is by far the most productive.

So let me just say, the lemon curd was to die for. Never thought I’d want to eat lemon curd straight out of a jar, but I did have to contain myself. I quickly whipped up a cake that would perfectly complement it: a yogurt cake that I think Emily may have made several months ago. It’s from Chocolate and Zucchini, with some slight moderations, as I only had a few spoonfuls left of cooking oil.

So for the recipe, you need:

– 2 eggs

– 1 1/4 cup of  whole milk Yogurt (Ronnybrook Farm Dairy has a shop in Chelsea Market… as a non-meat-eater, this was definitely my biggest perk from Zoe’s working at Jake’s butcher shop right next door. Their yogurt- and milk- is incredible.) If using vanilla yogurt, make sure it’s still pretty tart.

– 1 cup of regular sugar

– A few splashes of olive oil

– 2 cups AP flour

– 1 1/2 tsp of baking power

– 1/2 tsp baking soda

– 1 tsp vanilla extract

– 1 tbsp rum

– Topping: see Zoe’s lemon curd recipe

To bake:

– Preheat oven to 350. I greased (and sugared) a small bundt pan. A 10″ round dish will also do.

– Stir together the yogurt, eggs, sugar, vanilla, oil, and rum.

– In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda and baking powder. Mix it into the yogurt mixture, but be careful to not overmix the dough.

Bake for about 35-38 minutes if using a bundt pan. Less for a round or square dish.  When finished, the top will turn gold brown and the cake tester should come out clean. To serve, cut the cake and add a light layer of curd to each slice.

One Response to “what to do when your roommate starts canning compulsively”

  1. Val Says:

    Sami, I dealt with my anxiety last week by making blueberry tart and these oatmeal+chocolate chip+cut up pieces of chocolate with almonds+peanut butter+walnut+coffee grind+sea salty blondies, aka my version of the compost cookie. I swear they were tasty. Moral of the story: baking = extremely therapeutic while under stress.
    Anyways, I’m going to try this recipe out when I get home to Virginia and have access to a big kitchen and a bundt pan. The idea of yogurt and olive oil in a cake (two things I consume daily, respectively) is exciting. May add some fresh lemon juice/zest to the recipe instead of the curd (due to laziness, not lack of deliciousness).
    xoxo, Val

    PS- Last night was such a blast! I’m sad to say I have no more Pacific parties to look forward to :(.

Leave a Reply

