brunching at 111

by

There are a lot of reasons why I love New York. Near the top of the list is how this city does Sunday brunch. I love eggs. I love spicy bloody marys. I love squeezing out the last few ounces of weekend fun with old friends and new. And I love that everyone else in New York also seems to love Brunching too.

This Sunday I decided to do brunch at the apartment. After a(nother) late night downstairs at Henry Public, Zoe and I woke up early and started prepping—mushroom omelette, curried potato hash, some meat chili from Jake’s in keeping with superbowl tradition, a green salad, a fennel-semolina loaf of broad and some rye rolls from Amy’s Bread at Chelsea Market. We weren’t sure which of our friends were actually going to make it over, so we just prepared for a small army. Val brought over a goat cheese, sweet potato and spinach quiche that was almost too beautiful to touch—until I tasted it and couldn’t keep my hands off it. I wanted to make some sort of coffee cake with the apples and vat of maple syrup we got from the CSA this week. I found a great apple coffee cake recipe from and Food52/SavorySweetLife and adjusted it based on what I had in the apartment. As far as coffee cakes go, this was in a word, perfect. It was sweet and moist, not overly dense or rich. It will surely be making another appearance soon.

So for the recipe…

Filling:

4-5 apples peeled and sliced

1/3 cup of granulated sugar

2 tsp maple syrup

1 tbsp cinnamon


Cake:

3 cups flour

1 ¾ cups granulated sugar

½ cup butter melted

¼ cup Maple Syrup

3 tsp baking powder

2 tsp. of vanilla

4 eggs

a few pinches of salt

1 lemon squeezed

1/3 cup of apple sauce

¼ cup pineapple juice (or OJ)


– Preheat oven to 350F and butter a 9×13 pan (next time I am going to try this is a bundt pan).

– Toss together all of the ingredients for the filling into a bowl and set aside.

– In a large mixing bowl, thoroughly mix together all of the ingredients for the “Cake.” It will be pretty thick batter.

– Pour about half of the batter into the pan. It’s pretty thick so you may have to spread it with a spatula. Then generously layer the apple mixture atop the batter. Pour the rest of the batter over the apples. Cover the apples completely. Bake for 55-60 minutes. Serve warm and ENJOY!

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “brunching at 111”

  1. Nina Says:

    I’m about to go to sleep and I will surely dream about how delicious this apple cake was. And brunch in general! Don’t be surprised if I show up next Sunday expecting Part II…

  2. Val Says:

    Thanks for the shout-out, Sami dear! I agree with Nina, brunch was phenomenal, I meant to bring my brother a slice of that apple cake, but it never made it there :). Next time, I’ll host. At least that way you won’t be stuck with all those dishes.

  3. Japhet Says:

    I still have leftovers in my fridge. I will eat them soon. I cannot wait.

  4. bRAZZLE dAZZLE Says:

    THANKS AGAIN for an awesome brunch!! Really good food! You cooks are the best!

Leave a Reply

